Picnic Table

Reproducing pieces designed by others is a great way to learn. Post pictures here.

Moderator: Michael

Picnic Table

Postby paul@paulkirchnerstudios.com » Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:38 pm

A picnic table but a glorified picnic table. Backstory….got a call from Jeff, the head guy at a Central Cali winery that I've been photographing for now close to ten years. They bought a building for a new white wine fermentation facility and gutted it so they could put in their stainless tanks. In the demolition they saved all the lumber they could and Jeff was wondering if I wanted to re-purpose some of it for a big outdoor table for their tasting facility in Paso Robles.
He knew I made furniture too so that's why he asked.
I said sure.
Jeff, in his initial phone call to me used the words "big timbers" and I'm getting all excited that the "timbers" were like 4x10's or 8x8's or 6x12's and I'm already designing in my head using big joints and making something real unique.
When I got down to the building to pick up the lumber, it turns out to be, for the most part, normal dimensional stuff. It was big though. 2x14's that were 18-19' long. I scrounged around and found three 3x8's.

In the end I ended up making a picnic table. 16' long. 98% wood joints, I used four pieces of steel to keep the top together.
Picking up the lumber and back in the studio/workshop

Cutting a template on the Woodrat. I used the template to route the final shape and mortices.

Fitting the stretcher and brace

Ready to wedge the tenons

On site now

Before the top gets dropped on the tenons

Finished
paul@paulkirchnerstudios.com

Re: Picnic Table

Postby alleslie@ruraltel.net » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:02 pm

Great design & nice save on all that old wood! What kind of stain/finish did you use?
alleslie@ruraltel.net

Postby paul@paulkirchnerstudios.com » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:24 pm